Posted by: stokiecat | January 5, 2014

A Day of Two Halves – Janathon 2014 Day 5

I’m a routine kinda gal. I don’t do change or spontaneity very well. That’s why Sunday’s are pretty great as they always follow the same routine:

Morning – long run

Afternoon – long shower then football

My definition of long run is anything over 10 miles. I know for marathoners and ultras that’s a piddling amount but at the moment I’m a half marathoner so 10+ is MY long run. Last week I did my first for about 2 months, which was a 12 miler around Rudyard Reservoir (after which Rudyard Kipling was named) with some of the fast ‘uns from Trentham Running Club. I realise at my age and level of training I’m not going to be super fast but it did make me think that I need to concentrate on training if I’m going to get better. We are one sixth-ish of a way into Janathon (woop woop, can’t believe I’ve got this far) and I have learned two things

1. I can actually run for 5 days in a row which helped my long run (surprisingly) although it didn’t feel like it at about 10 miles when I just couldn’t wait for it to end.

2. I really don’t have enough running gear. I only do one wash a week, I’ve done 2 in 3 days due to Janathon.

However back to the point, today I ran  a dry 11 miles along country lanes in Staffordshire with several lovely members of TRC. Being part of a running community is great so I’m  going to write something next week about the joys of being in a club. That was the morning sorted and I’m back on track for my half marathon training.

The next part of my Sunday includes what I refer to as my long shower. Once a week I treat myself to a proper all over pamper shower which takes 3 times as long as a normal shower. (It would be a bath but we don’t do hot tap water in our house, that’s another story.) This is followed by reading and watching 5 hours of proper football and 5 hours of American football. This week, after my long shower I finally got round to using my brand new foot spa whilst watching Nottingham Forest demolish West Ham. All I can say is this is the greatest invention by mankind ever. It’s BRILLIANT.  My feet are thanking me and I believe they may have forgiven me for the crappy pair of trail shoes I have been squeezing them into, the evidence of which can be seen on my left foot (the manky black toenail).

footspa

I’m looking forward to next week’s long run just so I can use this again.

Responses

  1. I use anything over 8 miles as a qualification for long run in my personal dictionary! I’m normally follow the football / football routine too, but stuff got in the way this week. Hopefully normality returns next week.

    Like

  2. Will be interested to read about your running club experience I have been meaning to join one for a year now!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

