Posted by: stokiecat | January 14, 2014

Rainy Run – Janathon 2014 Day 14

I was browsing through Pinterest today and came across a pin that detailed a Rainy Day Runners Workout. Seriously I don’t know a single runner that would give up a run just because of rain. Are these the same runners who use treadmills? *shudders* I kid, I kid. As long as you are exercising you’re good in my book, I just respect you more if your doing it outside 🙂 There’s a common quote that states running any given route in the rain makes you feel 50% more hardcore than covering the same route on a sunny day. That is 100% true.

Well tonight it rained. It rained hard and it rained cold and it was a cracking club run. The run was a popular club route through Trent Vale and Penkhull known as 7 hills. The run started with a warm up in the (muddy) car park from our leader Walter.  A brief stop for a fallen comrade then we were on it proper. 7 miles of ups and downs; down Penkhull Bank (weeeeeeee) up Chamberlain avenue (uuuuuuuurgh).  I’ve got to do a lot more of this if I want to get near 2 hours for the Potters ‘Arf, which is a hilly route.  Unfortunately it is in June and last year I suffered badly from the heat, completely the opposite of tonight’s conditions. The main difference (other that being half the distance!) tonight I felt really good and strong. I was close to saying let’s run it again when we go back to the start. For the first time I really felt like I could have run further. It appears I’ve broken through the Janathon barrier and the runs are paying off. Not quite halfway but I feel my motivation and my performance have taken a step forward. My legs may say different when I get up for tomorrows run but we shall see.

rain or shine

Responses

  1. I was reading a blog last week from someone in California stating she had never run in the rain and rain was forecast the next day, should she run was the question she was worried she would slip! Made me laugh! Run I said!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

