Posted by: stokiecat | January 21, 2014

No excuses – Janathon 2014 – Day 21

Well today has not gone at all as planned. Basically I haven’t been well overnight and needed to sleep. In the end I decided to take a duvet day (last one left of this leave year) and got up about noon. I really didn’t feel strong enough to go out for a run today which also means I’ll be missing the club run tonight. All very disappointing.

However this morning my NSRRA number arrived through the post. The North Staffs Road Running Association (http://www.nsrra.org.uk/) is pretty much what it says, a league for running that involves local road races. I’m pretty rubbish when it comes to races, which explains why they’ve put me in the lowest group, x, but I’ll be running for Trentham and I’ll be giving it 100% enthusiasm and effort (barring injuries and life getting in the way). Trentham has some brilliant runners and I’ve said before that being in a club means I’m not just running for myself but also for everyone else in the team. Anyway this has meant I’m spending the rest of the day planning my racing and training schedule for the rest of the year. I’m already very excited for this 😀

But back to Janathon, I had to meet my targets (including Jantastic) but what could I do? Well I had a brain wave but think it’s the hardest run I’ve done for Janathon. I’ve already blogged about my struggle with exercising indoors (boring) and I don’t own any gym kit having had a purge about six months ago but on this occasion I couldn’t do anything but be indoors. So basically I strapped on my sports bra and heart rate monitor and ran up and down my stairs for 20 minutes during Bargain Hunt. Best part, running in my underwear (curtains were closed so no scarring the neighbours). Worst part, I sweated more than I would for the same period/distance during a normal run and I felt quite rough afterwards 😦 Annoying part, I paused at 5 mins and forgot to turn my watch back on so it now looks like my average pace was 9.35 but by the end I was seriously flagging so I don’t think that’s right. Maybe I’ll try it again some other time, or maybe not.

Run today – check

At least 20 minutes – check

New route – well, I’d never run in this manner before so I’ll give that a dubious yes

Janathon/Jantastic still on track – check

couch#

Responses

  1. Wow, you ran up and down the stairs for 20 minutes? That’s fantastic! I tried it once and was half dead after 11 minutes. It was tougher than any run I’ve ever done. Well done! 😄

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

