Posted by: stokiecat | January 4, 2015

It’s Cold Outside – Janathon 2015 Day 4

I don’t really do resolutions or challenges (er, apart from Janathon) because I realised a few years ago that if I set a resolution and then lapse it’s not the end of the world which somewhat made challenges a bit pointless. I don’t do pressure very well so instead I just sort of accept that I’m going to do something and get it done. For example I acknowledge that if I give up biscuits but then I eat a jaffa cake it’s not the end of the world, I don’t have to start over again nor do I have to give up completely and eat the whole packet of jaffas. I also don’t understand why resolutions have to start on 1st of January or a Monday.  If you really want to do something, just do it and therefore during the big shop yesterday I swapped my usual coffee for decaf and my green tea for rooibos on a bit of a whim. Last night I slept like the oldest, most comfy log in the world.  I shall start to pay attention to see if decaf does make a difference to my lifestyle or whether last night was a total coincidence. Anyway, the disadvantage of sleeping like that means not noticing an awkward position and as a consequence waking up with an incredibly stiff neck.  Added to the stiffness I’m still (!) feeling from the circuit on Friday I thought a spot of yoga would be in order. The only problem with that is my house is tiny so my yoga practice area is outside:

yoga My awkward and very cold yoga studio

This would be fine except that currently the weather is bloody freezing.  I only managed ten minutes, my body was OK but my toes were so cold it was painful, if I’d stayed out much longer I reckon frost bite was a genuine risk.  I did enough to work out some of the stiffness in my glutes and thighs but unfortunately it didn’t really work for the stiff neck. It also made me realise that I would freeze in the afternoon at the football so I put on an extra four layers on and headed out.

Today’s Activities

10 minutes outdoor yoga – abandoned due to frozen toes

4 mile walk to the Britannia and back. Changed out route slightly to take in Sammies Pool. Some people think I’m nuts for running in all weathers but it’s all a matter of perspective, innit?

IMAG0106_zpsdlgsiwngThese guys sit by a pond for hours in sub-zero temperatures, at least I’m on the move. Of course I have spent the afternoon freezing at the coldest football ground in the country watching 75 minutes of mediocrity then 15 minutes of actual exciting game which other people (not least my mum) also find unfathomable. I was cold but in the end it was probably much colder for the 4000 Wrexham fans set opposite me.

IMAG0107_zpss2moczvj

Back to running tomorrow, I’d better get my thermals ready. 🙂

Responses

  1. If I’d had to do yoga outside today, I would have been wearing so many layers I wouldn’t have been able to bend! A 4 mile walk is longer than some of my runs, of course it would count for janathon!

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

