Posted by: stokiecat | January 9, 2015

Old Favourites – Janathon 2015 Day 9

Today I did one of my favourite runs, from Stafford town centre up to the Castle. It’s through Victoria park and then a climb up through tracks and fields, then all downhill for about a mile and a half.  I love this route because it’s properly off road, muddy and hilly. It’s my “go to” route when I don’t want to think too hard about somewhere to run. It was difficult today, the mud was that gloopy kind that isn’t watery but very slippy and sticky. By the time I reached the top my soles had gained another inch.

IMG_0023IMG_0025

The main drawback of this route is that you can’t get away from the traffic noise of the M6 which was about 1/3 of a mile to my right as I ran up the fields. In fact if you had been driving between junctions 13 and 14 at about 8.30am and looked up the hill you would have seen me in my massively high-vis orange jacket. Running very, very slowly. That’s the other drawback of hilly, muddy runs. Neither of these drawbacks are sufficient to detract from a run that’s a lot of fun.  The other thing I always do is run to the very top and say hello to the face of the castle.  IMG_0034

Today’s Activities

5.5 miles (total) cycle commute – wow it was windy on the way home! Added to the burn although I did get blown crooked a couple of times.

4.5 miles run – 11 minute miles! That’s what mud and uphill does….

13802 steps, 29 floors climbed

Roll on tomorrow morning for another old favourite route 🙂

Responses

  1. Great mileage! I’m no good at hills, luckily our part of the country is fairly flat. 😃

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

