Posted by: stokiecat | January 18, 2015

Nutrition Armageddon – Janthon 2015 day 18

It may not have escaped your notice that I’m not really very athletic. I’m a trier, a plodder, an “it’s the taking part that counts” type. I have no issues with this and I’m quite content to remain in this bracket however it is nice to get the occasional PB, or league trophy. In fact that’s what’s good about the league is that rankings means that the plodders do actually get a chance of an award, I’m happy with how my recovery training is coming along and the progress I’m making at the moment. What I’m not happy with is my nutrition.

During my younger years I was thin. So thin that when I used to wear my doc marten boots one of my friends would call me a golf club.  My fitness regime was drink a lot, dance a lot, throw up a lot. It kept me thin but this is not a healthy lifestyle, DO NOT DO THIS. However throughout my thirties my lifestyle became more settled, more sedentary until I got up one morning, looked in the mirror and knew, I was fat. After losing weight through Weightwatchers online I started to question my lifestyle and decided that being thin wasn’t actually that important, but being healthy is. I stopped Weightwatchers and started running. That’s not to say Weightwatchers isn’t brilliant, it was the kick I needed to sort myself out but my goals had changed and exercise was now the focus. However for the past few months I have been slipping back into old habits, and this coupled with my reduction in training due to my injury meant that I’m now the heaviest I have been for over 12 months. I have started tracking again using the http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ app, which is great but it has made me realise that I need desperately to do something about what I’m eating. Yesterday was nutrition Armageddon:

Breakfast: 4 weetabix with 300ml semi-skimmed milk and 20g sugar

Lunch: 1 cheese and onion pastie and a mars bar duo

Tea: Dominoes – potato wedges, cheese twisted dough balls, new yorker pizza, 4 mini doughnuts

Drink: 400ml cadburys hot chocolate made with semi-skimmed milk

Oh dear. Not a single portion of one of the five a day and so much fat it would give a blue whale a run for it’s money.

Then my day started like this:

IMG_0120

Not exactly the best but it was still more healthy than yesterday and I’d eaten enough yesterday to know my glycogen stores would be plenty full enough to fuel this mornings run. I will admit that I start every day like that but usually with my breakfast. However I think it is now imperative I start a decent nutrition/eating plan to match my training plan (which is going really well at the moment) so it’s time to hit the books this afternoon to get started first thing tomorrow.

Today’s Activities

6.8 miles run – was only supposed to be 6 miles but as next week is easy week I think I can get away with it. It was a fresh but foggy morning run and I met up with some from the club doing the Potters Arf route for their training run.  Really enjoyed running with club mates on a Sunday for the first time in nearly 4 months 🙂

Responses

  1. That’s a great run!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 4 Weetabix? Wow that would keep me going for days. Much prefer to eat the Mars Bar. Always great to run with others

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great run. Good luck with your nutrition goals

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

