Posted by: stokiecat | January 18, 2017

Janathon 2017 Day 18

Run

I’m a morning runner, I like the thought that I’m up and about before other people and already having a productive day. I can enjoy the run, get it done and then get on with the rest of the day. I like the crispness and coolness in the air. Most of all I like the sunrise, starting in the dark and seeing the sun come up. Except that it’s January and therefore there is no lovely sunrise. Today was grey, as it has been for a couple of weeks now and is probably going to remain.

A grey day along the River Sow

A grey day along the River Sow

However today’s run was a success. This is one of my go-to runs, it’s flat as a pancake (exactly zero ft elevation gain – check it on Strava) so I could go a bit further than I had originally planned. No foot pain, no calf pain, no ankle pain = success!Β  This run is a slightly modified Stafford doorstep walk (http://www.staffordbc.gov.uk/walks ) that also takes in some of the Millenium Way, a long distance route which spans the entire width of Staffordshire – from Newport to Burton. Some of my running colleagues will shortly be running it as an ultra race (http://beyondmarathon.com/millennium-way/ ). Just to warn you I came across a couple of hazards:

Millennium Way 1

Millennium Way Footpath Hazard #1: There isn’t actually a footpath, it’s a river….

Millennium Way Footpath Hazards #2: Cow blocking stile

Millennium Way Footpath Hazard #2: Cow blocking stile

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to divert around cows but it’s a lot.

Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/836452321

Chocolate

Today’s dessert is definitely a grey day comfort food, Co-Op double chocolate swiss roll with clotted cream custard. The roll is pretty good for shop made but could do without the sugar sprinkles. The custard is merely OK, I probably would prefer either normal custard or actual clotted cream. However I still managed two servings πŸ™‚
ae20e8db-b7f3-49c5-bcfe-20e46e79e798

 

 

Responses

  1. I’ll be attempting a 7am run in Sunday. No idea if I’ll actually get up tho! πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sunday’s is the one day I don’t run early. Gotta get my oatcakes on the way home πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I much prefer morning runs too. The longer I leave it, the less likely I am to go.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

